CJE logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

What Does CJE Mean?

TL;DR
  • CJE here means Certified Journalism Educator, issued by the Journalism Education Association (JEA) for journalism teachers and advisers.
  • The exam runs 150 minutes, is worth 100 points, and mixes multiple-choice, fill-in-the-blank, and short-answer questions.
  • You need at least 75% overall and at least 75% on Law and Ethics to pass.
  • Only JEA members can sit for the exam; dues are separate from the exam fee.

The Short Answer: What CJE Means Here

On this site, CJE stands for Certified Journalism Educator. It is a professional credential for people who teach journalism and advise student media, most often at the middle school, high school, and early college level. The certification signals that an educator has demonstrated command of the content a journalism program is supposed to teach: reporting, writing, editing, design, photography, multimedia, law, ethics, and the leadership skills it takes to run a student newsroom.

If you landed here after searching the acronym, you may have seen several unrelated credentials that happen to share three letters. This article is only about the journalism education credential. For companion explainers on the same topic, see our pages on what CJE is, what CJE stands for, and CJE meaning. If you would rather start practicing right away, the main practice test site is built around this exact exam.

Who Issues the Credential

The Journalism Education Association (JEA) runs the certification program. JEA administers and proctors the exam itself, and no outside testing vendor has been identified in the public materials. That matters for candidates because the rules, forms, and deadlines all come from one organization, and the JEA certification page is the authority whenever a detail changes.

Because the exam is built by the same organization that publishes a national journalism curriculum, the content is aligned to that curriculum rather than to a generic communications syllabus. Candidates who have taught from JEA lessons will recognize the vocabulary. Candidates who have not will want to spend time with the curriculum categories described below.

Membership comes first: The exam is open to JEA members only, and there is no separate non-member pricing tier. If you are not yet a member, joining is the first practical step, and the dues are paid in addition to the exam fee. Details are covered in our CJE requirements guide.

Why the Acronym Causes Confusion

Three-letter professional acronyms get reused constantly, and CJE is a good example. Search results for the letters can surface credentials from entirely different fields, each with its own certifying body, exam structure, and eligibility rules. Those details do not transfer. Nothing about another credential's fees, exam length, or prerequisites applies to the Certified Journalism Educator exam.

A quick way to check whether you are reading about the right credential: look for the Journalism Education Association, a 150-minute exam, and a 75% threshold that applies both overall and to Law and Ethics. If a page describes something else, it is describing a different certification. For the plain-language definition, our pages on what CJE means and what CJE certification is cover the same ground from other angles.

What the Exam Looks Like

The current exam lasts 2.5 hours and is worth 100 points. That figure is a point total, not a question count. JEA has not published how many items appear on the exam or how scored and unscored items are divided, so treat any claim of "100 questions" with suspicion.

FeatureWhat JEA Publishes
Duration150 minutes (2.5 hours)
Total value100 points (not a verified question count)
Question formatsMultiple-choice, fill-in-the-blank, and short-answer
Reference materialsClosed book, no notes
Passing standardAt least 75% overall AND at least 75% on Law and Ethics
DeliveryProctored, with on-site and virtual arrangements
Pass rateNot publicly disclosed

The mixed format is the detail candidates most often underestimate. Multiple-choice questions let you recognize a correct answer. Fill-in-the-blank and short-answer questions require you to produce one from memory, which is a different skill. If you can recognize the right AP style choice when it is listed among four options but cannot write it unprompted, the written portions will expose that gap. Multiple-choice practice is a useful supplement, but it does not reproduce the full mixed-format experience, so build in some recall-and-write drills too.

For a candid look at what makes the exam demanding, read how hard the CJE exam is. Because JEA does not disclose a pass rate, our CJE pass rate article explains what can and cannot be said responsibly, and the CJE passing score guide unpacks the dual 75% rule.

The Eleven Curriculum Categories

JEA organizes its curriculum into eleven categories, and because the exam is explicitly aligned to that curriculum, these categories make sensible preparation sections. One important caveat: they are not a published, percentage-weighted exam blueprint, and there is no guarantee that every lesson is examined. We use them as unweighted study sections, nothing more.

  1. Design
  2. Editing
  3. Law and Ethics
  4. Leadership and Team Building
  5. Marketing and Audience Engagement
  6. Multimedia Broadcast
  7. News Gathering
  8. News Literacy
  9. Photojournalism
  10. Web
  11. Writing

The public certification page also describes the teaching standards behind the exam, which helps flesh out what sits inside several of these categories. Our full breakdown lives in the CJE exam domains guide; here is a condensed look at the areas where the public standards are most concrete.

Writing and Editing

The public standards point to journalistic writing, AP style, leads, attribution, headlines, and captions. Expect to demonstrate craft, not just define terms.

  • Constructing and evaluating leads
  • Attribution conventions and when they apply
  • Headline and caption writing
  • AP style rules you can apply without a reference

Design and Web

Information design, typography, and readability appear in the published standards. The goal is making content usable, not merely attractive.

  • Typography choices and legibility
  • Layout decisions that support readers
  • How design principles carry over to online publishing

Photojournalism

The standards name exposure, image ethics, and composition. This is where technical camera knowledge meets editorial judgment.

  • Exposure fundamentals
  • Composition principles for news images
  • Ethical limits on editing and staging photographs

News Gathering and News Literacy

Reporting and news values, plus journalism history and media functions, anchor these areas.

  • How news values shape story selection
  • The roles media play in a community
  • Foundational history a journalism teacher should be able to explain

Leadership and Team Building, Marketing and Audience Engagement, and Multimedia Broadcast are named in the curriculum index, but detailed lesson content for most categories sits behind JEA membership. We do not claim to know what is inside member-only lessons, so rely on your membership access for that material.

Why Law and Ethics Gets Special Treatment

Of the eleven categories, one carries unique weight in the scoring. JEA states that Law and Ethics questions are more heavily weighted, and the passing rule backs that up: you must reach 75% on Law and Ethics specifically, in addition to 75% overall. A candidate who aces design and photography but stumbles on law cannot pass on strength elsewhere.

JEA does not publish numerical section percentages, so any claim about exactly how many points Law and Ethics is worth would be a guess. What can be said is that the public standards list a wide range of topics here:

  • First Amendment rights and responsibilities
  • Court cases that shaped student press rights
  • Censorship and prior review
  • Forums and editorial policies
  • Libel and privacy
  • Copyright
  • FERPA
  • Obscenity and profanity
  • Ethics codes
A built-in safety net: Because Law and Ethics has its own 75% threshold, the program allows a Law and Ethics-only retake. If you clear the overall bar but miss the law section, you do not necessarily have to repeat everything. Confirm current retake terms with JEA before you register.

Registration, Fees, and Retakes

Here is the fee structure JEA publishes for the exam, separate from membership dues:

ItemDetail
On-site exam$60
Virtual exam$85, which includes a $25 proctoring charge
Membership duesAdditional; no non-member tier exists
Application windowOne year
RetakeIncluded within the window; virtual retakes carry the proctor charge

The one-year application window and included retake change how you should think about the first attempt. You are not buying a single high-stakes shot; you have a runway. That said, a virtual retake still triggers the proctoring charge, so preparing well the first time saves money. Fixed degree requirements, experience-hour minimums, and training-hour minimums were not verified in the public materials, so check the current forms on the JEA certification page rather than assuming. For a complete cost picture, see the CJE certification cost breakdown, and for scheduling specifics, the CJE exam dates guide.

JEA publishes current online guidance rather than a dated examination version, so always defer to the live registration instructions. On-site and virtual arrangements differ, and the current instructions control.

CJE Versus MJE

JEA also offers a related, more advanced credential, the Master Journalism Educator (MJE). The two are distinct. The MJE has essay and project requirements that do not belong to the CJE process, and you should not import them into your CJE planning. The CJE is the exam-based entry point: a proctored test of curriculum knowledge, not a portfolio submission. If you are weighing whether to start with the CJE, that clarity alone simplifies your timeline.

Who Benefits From Holding It

The natural audience is journalism teachers and student media advisers, especially those who came to the role from another subject or from newsroom work and want formal validation of their teaching content knowledge. Advisers who inherited a yearbook or newspaper program without formal training often find that the curriculum categories double as a gap analysis of what they never learned.

Who "hires for it" deserves honest framing. The credential is a professional signal rather than a licensing requirement, so its value shows up in how districts, administrators, and colleagues perceive your expertise, not in a posted job requirement you must meet. We cover the career side in more depth in our articles on CJE jobs, the CJE salary guide, and whether the CJE certification is worth it. We deliberately avoid quoting salary numbers here, because no verified figures exist in the issuer's materials.

Keeping the Credential Current

The certification is valid for five years. To renew, you complete three growth activities, pay a $10 renewal fee (waived if you are retired), and maintain your JEA membership. Renewal is intentionally lightweight compared with the original exam, rewarding ongoing professional development rather than demanding a full retest. Build your growth activities into your normal professional calendar so renewal does not become a last-minute scramble.

Sequencing Your Preparation

Since the exam rewards both recognition and recall, and since Law and Ethics carries its own pass threshold, a sensible plan front-loads the highest-stakes material. This is the only study-methodology section in this article, and it is tied to the specific categories above. Adjust the pacing to your own schedule; the order is what matters.

Weeks 1-2

Law and Ethics first

  • Work through First Amendment, prior review, libel, privacy, copyright, and FERPA
  • Memorize key court cases and be able to explain their significance in your own words
  • Do written recall drills, not just recognition practice
Weeks 3-4

Writing, Editing, and News Gathering

  • Practice AP style, leads, attribution, headlines, and captions from memory
  • Review news values and reporting fundamentals
Weeks 5-6

Design, Web, Photojournalism, and Multimedia Broadcast

  • Review typography, readability, exposure, composition, and image ethics
  • Connect design principles to online and broadcast contexts
Final week

Leadership, Marketing, News Literacy, then full review

  • Cover the remaining categories
  • Revisit Law and Ethics one more time before the exam

For a fuller planning framework, read the CJE study guide, and keep the CJE cheat sheet handy for last-minute review. The CJE training overview covers how to use JEA's member lessons alongside outside practice. When you want timed questions to test yourself, head to the CJE Exam Prep practice tests.

Key Takeaway

Do not let a strong showing in design or photography lull you. The dual 75% rule means Law and Ethics can sink an otherwise successful attempt, so treat it as a separate exam within the exam and schedule it first.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does CJE stand for in journalism education?

It stands for Certified Journalism Educator, a credential issued by the Journalism Education Association for journalism teachers and student media advisers. It is distinct from other credentials that share the same acronym.

How long is the CJE exam and what does it include?

The exam lasts 150 minutes and is worth 100 points. It combines multiple-choice, fill-in-the-blank, and short-answer questions, and it is closed book with no notes allowed. The 100 points do not equal 100 questions.

What score do I need to pass?

You need at least 75% overall and at least 75% on Law and Ethics. Meeting only one of the two does not earn the credential, which is why Law and Ethics deserves early, focused attention.

Do I have to be a JEA member to take it?

Yes. The exam is for members only, and there is no non-member pricing tier. Membership dues are separate from the $60 on-site or $85 virtual exam fee, and you must keep your membership active to maintain the credential.

How long does the certification last?

It is a five-year credential. Renewal requires three growth activities, a $10 fee (waived for retired educators), and continued JEA membership.

Ready to pass your CJE exam?

Put this into practice with free CJE questions across every exam domain.