- What "Qualifying" Really Means for the CJE
- The Membership Gate
- What the Public Sources Do Not Specify
- The Exam You Are Qualifying For
- The Two-Part Passing Rule
- Fees, Proctoring Options, and the Application Window
- Content Readiness: The Eleven Curriculum Categories
- CJE Is Not MJE
- After You Pass: The Five-Year Credential
- Sequencing Your Preparation Around Eligibility
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The Certified Journalism Educator exam is run by the Journalism Education Association (JEA) and is open to JEA members only.
- Exam fee is $60 on-site or $85 virtual (including $25 proctoring); membership dues are separate.
- Passing requires at least 75% overall and at least 75% on Law and Ethics.
- Fixed degree, experience-hour and training-hour minimums are not verified in public sources, so confirm with JEA.
What "Qualifying" Really Means for the CJE
When people search for CJE requirements, they usually expect a checklist: a degree, a number of years in the classroom, a set of training hours. The Certified Journalism Educator credential does not present itself that way in its public materials. The credential is issued by the Journalism Education Association (JEA), and the clearest, most verifiable gate is simple: you must be a JEA member to sit the exam.
That is worth stating plainly, because it changes how you plan. For this credential, "qualifying" is less about accumulating a stack of documentation and more about three practical steps: becoming and staying a JEA member, registering for a proctored session, and being ready to clear a two-part passing standard. If you want the broader picture of what the credential is before digging into logistics, our overview of what CJE certification is covers the basics, and the CJE certification hub page gathers the related resources.
The Membership Gate
JEA's public certification materials describe the exam as available to members. There is no separate non-member pricing tier; the fees published for the exam apply to members, and your membership dues are an additional cost on top of them. In practical terms:
- Join JEA first. Membership is the entry point, not an afterthought you handle after registering.
- Keep your membership active. Membership matters again after you pass, since maintaining the credential also requires staying a member.
- Budget for dues separately. The exam fee does not include them. For the full money picture, see our CJE certification cost breakdown.
Membership also affects your study options. Most of the detailed JEA curriculum lessons sit behind the member login, so joining early gives you access to the same curriculum the exam is aligned with. Publicly, you can see category names and certification standards; the in-depth lesson content is member-facing.
What the Public Sources Do Not Specify
Here is where honesty matters more than a tidy checklist. Candidates frequently ask whether a particular degree, a set number of years teaching, or a specified count of training hours is required. In the public JEA sources reviewed for this article, fixed minimums for degree level, experience hours, and training hours were not verified. We are not going to invent them.
What that means for you:
- Do not assume a degree threshold exists, and do not assume one doesn't. Check the current JEA certification page and forms before making career decisions around it.
- Do not trust third-party sites that quote precise hour counts or years of experience. If a number does not appear on JEA's own pages, treat it as unverified.
- Contact JEA directly if your situation is unusual. New advisers, career-changers from professional newsrooms, and teachers who inherited a yearbook program without formal journalism training are all common candidates; ask JEA how your background fits.
The Exam You Are Qualifying For
Understanding what you are applying to take helps you judge your own readiness. The current CJE exam is worth 100 points and runs 150 minutes (two and a half hours). An important caution: 100 points does not mean 100 questions. JEA has not published the item count or the split between scored and unscored questions, so any claim about exact question numbers is unverified.
The format mixes question types:
- Multiple-choice
- Fill-in-the-blank
- Short-answer
The exam is closed book with no notes allowed, and it is proctored, with on-site and virtual arrangements that differ in procedure and price. That mixed format has a study implication: multiple-choice practice is useful for building recall and recognizing correct answers, but it supplements the real experience rather than reproducing it. You also need to be able to produce answers, such as naming a concept, completing a term, or writing a concise explanation. You can try question-style practice on our CJE practice test site, and for a realistic read on the challenge, see how hard the CJE exam is.
The Two-Part Passing Rule
The most distinctive CJE requirement is not about who you are; it is about how you score. To pass, you need:
- At least 75% overall, and
- At least 75% on Law and Ethics
Both conditions must be met. A strong overall score does not rescue a weak Law and Ethics result. JEA also states that Law and Ethics questions are more heavily weighted, but it does not publish a numerical distribution of topics, so no verified percentage breakdown exists. Any practice-bank allocation you see elsewhere, including on study sites, is an editorial choice, not an official blueprint. We unpack the scoring mechanics in our CJE passing score guide.
| Passing Condition | Threshold | What It Means for You |
|---|---|---|
| Overall score | At least 75% | You need broad competence across the curriculum categories. |
| Law and Ethics score | At least 75% | This is a second, separate gate; it cannot be offset by other sections. |
| Pass rate | Not publicly disclosed | Ignore any quoted pass-rate figure that lacks a JEA source. See what the data shows. |
Fees, Proctoring Options, and the Application Window
The fee structure is straightforward, and it is members-only:
| Option | Fee | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| On-site | $60 | Members only; membership dues are additional. |
| Virtual | $85 | Includes a $25 proctoring charge; members only. |
Beyond the sticker price, the mechanics of your application matter:
- One-year window. Your application carries a one-year window, which gives you room to prepare after registering.
- One included retake. A retake is built into the application. If you test virtually, the virtual proctor charge applies to the attempt.
- Law and Ethics-only retake. If you clear the overall threshold but miss the Law and Ethics threshold, a Law and Ethics-only retake is possible, so you do not necessarily repeat the entire exam.
Key Takeaway
The retake provisions reward honest self-assessment. Because Law and Ethics can be retaken on its own, you should schedule your first attempt when your overall knowledge is solid, even if you still feel shaky on specific legal cases, and use the included retake strategically rather than as a safety net you plan to need. For scheduling specifics, see CJE exam dates and deadlines.
Content Readiness: The Eleven Curriculum Categories
Requirements are not only administrative. To realistically meet the 75% thresholds, you need command of the material. JEA's exam is aligned to its curriculum, which is organized into eleven public categories. We use these as unweighted preparation sections: they are curriculum headings, not a published percentage-weighted blueprint, and not a guarantee that every lesson is examined. For a deeper walk-through, read our complete guide to all 11 CJE content areas.
Law and Ethics (your most important category)
Because of the separate 75% gate and heavier weighting, this is where candidates should invest first. Public certification standards describe the territory:
- First Amendment rights and responsibilities, and the court cases that shaped scholastic press rights
- Censorship and prior review
- Forums and editorial policies
- Libel, privacy, and copyright
- FERPA
- Obscenity and profanity
- Ethics codes
Writing and Editing
Expect to demonstrate command of journalistic craft, not just general grammar.
- AP style conventions
- Leads and attribution
- Headlines and captions
- Editing for clarity, accuracy, and concision
News Gathering and News Literacy
The public standards address reporting and news values, plus journalism history and media functions.
- Reporting practices and how news values drive coverage decisions
- The history of journalism and the functions media serve
- Teaching students to evaluate information critically
Design, Photojournalism, Web, and Multimedia Broadcast
The visual and digital side of scholastic media is tested as part of the curriculum.
- Information design, typography, and readability
- Photojournalism: exposure, composition, and image ethics
- Web publishing and multimedia broadcast production concepts
Leadership and Team Building; Marketing and Audience Engagement
These categories reflect the adviser's role beyond the craft itself: building a staff culture and reaching an audience.
- Developing student leaders and managing a newsroom team
- Audience engagement and the business side of student media
Because most detailed curriculum lessons require JEA membership, your first practical step toward readiness is the same as your first administrative one: join. For a structured plan, our CJE study guide walks through preparation, and the CJE cheat sheet condenses the must-know facts for last-minute review.
CJE Is Not MJE
A frequent point of confusion in JEA's certification pathway is the relationship between the Certified Journalism Educator (CJE) and the Master Journalism Educator (MJE). They are distinct credentials. The essay and project requirements associated with MJE are not CJE requirements, and you should not prepare for them as part of this exam. If you are planning a longer professional arc, treat CJE as the credential you earn through this proctored exam, and look at MJE's separate rules only when you are ready to consider it.
After You Pass: The Five-Year Credential
Qualifying is not a one-time event. The CJE is a five-year credential, and keeping it current involves a few ongoing requirements:
- Three growth activities during the credential period
- A $10 renewal fee (waived for retired educators)
- Continued JEA membership
Planning for renewal from day one makes it far less burdensome. Keep a running record of workshops, conference sessions, curriculum projects, and similar professional growth as you go. And if you are weighing whether the credential justifies the effort, our ROI analysis and salary guide look at the career side, while CJE jobs covers the kinds of roles where this credential is relevant: journalism teachers, yearbook and newspaper advisers, and broadcast or media program leaders.
Sequencing Your Preparation Around Eligibility
You do not need a generic study system here, just a sensible order of operations that respects how the requirements fit together. This is one short sequence, tied directly to CJE specifics:
Secure membership and confirm the rules
- Join JEA and activate member access to the curriculum.
- Review the certification page and forms for current registration instructions.
- Ask JEA about anything the public pages leave unverified.
Front-load Law and Ethics
- Study court cases, prior review, libel, privacy, copyright, and FERPA first.
- Practice writing short explanations, since short-answer items require production, not recognition.
Cover the craft and production categories
- Writing, Editing, and News Gathering for AP style and news values.
- Design, Photojournalism, Web, and Multimedia Broadcast for technical vocabulary.
Choose your format and register
- Decide between on-site ($60) and virtual ($85, including $25 proctoring).
- Take full-length, closed-book practice to rehearse the 150-minute pace.
Working through the categories in this order also protects you against the exam's second gate: by the time you sit for the test, the material most likely to sink an otherwise strong score has had the most review time. You can drill each category on the main practice test site.
Frequently Asked Questions
Yes. The exam is for JEA members only, and there is no non-member pricing tier. Membership dues are separate from the exam fee, and you must stay a member to maintain the credential after passing.
Fixed degree, experience-hour, and training-hour minimums were not verified in JEA's public sources. Rather than relying on third-party claims, check JEA's current certification page and forms, or contact JEA directly about your situation.
The exam is $60 on-site or $85 virtual, which includes a $25 proctoring charge. Membership dues are additional. See our full cost breakdown for planning purposes.
You need at least 75% overall and at least 75% on Law and Ethics. Both thresholds must be met. JEA has not publicly disclosed a pass rate, so be cautious about any quoted figure.
Your application carries a one-year window and includes a retake, though the virtual proctor charge applies if you test virtually. A Law and Ethics-only retake is possible if that section is the one that fell short.
No. They are distinct JEA credentials. The essay and project requirements associated with MJE do not apply to the CJE exam, which is a proctored, closed-book test built around the JEA curriculum.