- Confirm You Have the Right CJE
- The Exam at a Glance
- The Two-Part Passing Rule
- Registration, Fees and Retakes
- The Eleven Preparation Categories
- Law and Ethics: The High-Stakes Sheet
- Craft Categories: Writing, Editing, Design, Photo
- Question Formats and What They Demand
- Five-Year Credential Lifecycle
- Sequencing Your Review Around the Categories
- Frequently Asked Questions
- CJE here means Certified Journalism Educator, administered and proctored by the Journalism Education Association (JEA).
- The exam runs 150 minutes, is closed book, and mixes multiple-choice, fill-in-the-blank and short-answer questions.
- You must score at least 75% overall and at least 75% on Law and Ethics.
- Law and Ethics is more heavily weighted, but JEA publishes no numerical section percentages.
Confirm You Have the Right CJE
Several credentials in different fields share the "CJE" acronym, and mixing them up is the fastest way to waste study time. This cheat sheet covers Certified Journalism Educator, the JEA program for journalism teachers and publication advisers. Nothing here applies to any other credential that happens to use the same three letters. If you need a primer on the name itself, see What Does CJE Stand For? or What Is CJE Certification?.
One more distinction matters inside JEA's own program: CJE and MJE (Master Journalism Educator) are separate credentials. The essay and project requirements associated with MJE do not belong in your CJE preparation. If a colleague describes a portfolio or essay component, they are almost certainly talking about the other certification.
The Exam at a Glance
| Item | What to Know |
|---|---|
| Credential | Certified Journalism Educator (CJE) |
| Administered by | Journalism Education Association (JEA); JEA-administered and proctored |
| Duration | 150 minutes (2.5 hours) |
| Scoring scale | 100 points (this is not a verified question count) |
| Formats | Multiple-choice, fill-in-the-blank, short-answer |
| Resources | Closed book, no notes |
| Passing standard | At least 75% overall and at least 75% on Law and Ethics |
| Pass rate | Not publicly disclosed |
| Item count / scored vs. unscored | Unpublished |
| Validity | Five years |
Notice what is missing from the table: a published question count, a published pass rate, and a published domain-by-domain percentage breakdown. Anyone quoting those numbers is guessing. For what the available evidence does and does not support, read CJE Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows.
The Two-Part Passing Rule
The single most important line on this sheet is that passing has two conditions. You need at least 75% on the exam overall, and you separately need at least 75% on the Law and Ethics portion. A strong overall score does not rescue a weak Law and Ethics result.
Because the exact weighting is unpublished, the safest assumption is that Law and Ethics counts for more than its share of the curriculum would suggest, and that you need to clear it on its own merits. For a deeper look at the arithmetic, see CJE Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass.
Registration, Fees and Retakes
The CJE is a members-only program. There is no non-member tier, so JEA membership comes first and the dues are additional to any exam fee.
- On-site exam: $60.
- Virtual exam: $85, which includes a $25 proctoring charge.
- Application window: one year.
- Included retake: one retake is built into the application window, with a virtual proctor charge if you retake remotely.
- Partial retake: a Law and Ethics-only retake is possible, which matters given the two-part passing rule.
On-site and virtual arrangements differ, and JEA's current registration instructions control if anything here conflicts. Check the certification page and forms before you commit to a format. For the full money picture, including membership dues and renewal, see CJE Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.
Eligibility: What Is and Isn't Verified
JEA membership is required. Fixed minimums for degrees, years of experience, training hours or reference counts were not verified in the public sources reviewed, so don't assume any such threshold exists, and don't assume none does. Confirm directly with JEA, and read CJE Requirements 2026 for how to approach that conversation. Guidance is current online, with no dated examination version published, which means there is no "2026 edition" label to look for on your study materials.
The Eleven Preparation Categories
The exam is explicitly aligned to the JEA curriculum, which is organized into eleven categories. This site uses those categories as unweighted preparation sections. They are not a published percentage-weighted blueprint, and they are not a guarantee that every lesson is examined. They are, however, the best public map of where questions are likely to come from.
| # | Category | Cluster |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | Design | Visual craft |
| 2 | Editing | Language craft |
| 3 | Law and Ethics | Gatekeeper (separate 75% requirement) |
| 4 | Leadership and Team Building | Program management |
| 5 | Marketing and Audience Engagement | Program management |
| 6 | Multimedia Broadcast | Platform craft |
| 7 | News Gathering | Reporting craft |
| 8 | News Literacy | Concepts and civics |
| 9 | Photojournalism | Visual craft |
| 10 | Web | Platform craft |
| 11 | Writing | Language craft |
The "Cluster" column is an editorial grouping to help you plan, not an official JEA structure. The library interface sometimes shortens category labels, but the linked category guide supplies these fuller names. For a category-by-category walkthrough, use CJE Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 11 Content Areas.
Law and Ethics: The High-Stakes Sheet
JEA's public certification page lists the standards a journalism teacher is expected to address in this area. Use them as your checklist.
Domain 3: Law and Ethics
Know the legal framework governing student and professional media, and be able to apply it to scenarios an adviser would actually face.
- First Amendment rights and responsibilities
- Landmark court cases and what each established
- Censorship and prior review
- Forums (how forum status affects student expression)
- Editorial policies and why they matter
- Libel: elements, defenses, and risk
- Privacy, including intrusion and disclosure concerns
- Copyright and fair use in student publications
- FERPA and student records
- Obscenity and profanity
- Ethics codes and applying them to real decisions
Two habits pay off here. First, learn each court case by the question it answered, not just its name, since fill-in-the-blank and short-answer formats reward recall and explanation rather than recognition. Second, practice applying rules to short scenarios: a student wants to publish X, an administrator objects, what framework governs? Because the exam is closed book, you cannot look up a case citation or statute on the day.
Key Takeaway
Treat Law and Ethics as its own exam inside the exam. If you only get one category to near-mastery, make it this one, since a miss here fails you regardless of your overall score. The Law and Ethics-only retake exists precisely because this section can be the sole obstacle.
Craft Categories: Writing, Editing, Design, Photo
The public standards also point to what the craft categories cover. These topics are named in JEA's published standards; how deeply each is tested is not disclosed.
Domains 2 and 11: Editing and Writing
Journalistic writing fundamentals and the editor's toolkit.
- AP style conventions
- Leads and story structure
- Attribution practices
- Headlines and captions
- Reporting and news values as they shape what gets written
Domain 1: Design
Information design for print and screen.
- Typography choices and their effect on tone
- Readability and hierarchy
- How layout decisions communicate priority
Domain 9: Photojournalism
Making and judging news images.
- Exposure fundamentals
- Composition principles
- Image ethics, including manipulation and staging
Domains 7 and 8: News Gathering and News Literacy
The reporting process and the concepts students need to evaluate information.
- Journalism history and media functions
- News values and sourcing
- Teaching students to assess credibility
The remaining categories (Leadership and Team Building, Marketing and Audience Engagement, Multimedia Broadcast, and Web) reflect the realities of running a modern student media program. Public sources name the categories but do not itemize their standards the way they do for law, writing and photography, and much of the detailed lesson content is member-only. Review these through the JEA curriculum once you have membership rather than relying on secondhand outlines.
Question Formats and What They Demand
The CJE is not a pure multiple-choice test. It combines three formats, and each demands a different kind of preparation.
- Multiple-choice: rewards recognition and elimination. Practice questions are the most efficient prep here.
- Fill-in-the-blank: rewards precise recall of terms, case names and style rules. Flashcards help, since you must produce the answer rather than pick it.
- Short-answer: rewards the ability to explain a concept or apply a rule in a few sentences. Practice writing concise responses from memory.
With 150 minutes and an unknown item count, pace by section rather than by question number: skim the whole exam first, bank the quick items, and reserve time for short-answer responses, which take longest. For a candid view of how demanding all this is, see How Hard Is the CJE Exam?.
Five-Year Credential Lifecycle
Passing is not the end of the paperwork. The CJE is valid for five years, and keeping it active has defined requirements.
| Stage | Requirement |
|---|---|
| Before exam | JEA membership; application within the one-year window |
| Exam | $60 on-site or $85 virtual (includes $25 proctoring); 150 minutes; closed book |
| Pass | At least 75% overall and at least 75% on Law and Ethics |
| Renewal | Three growth activities and a $10 fee (waived if retired); maintain JEA membership |
Plan your renewal from day one. Keep a running record of professional development you complete, since the three growth activities are the core of renewal. If you are weighing whether the credential justifies this ongoing commitment, the ROI analysis and the salary guide lay out the considerations, and CJE jobs covers where the credential tends to matter, namely teaching and advising roles in scholastic journalism.
Sequencing Your Review Around the Categories
You do not need an elaborate method for this exam, just a sensible order. Because Law and Ethics has its own 75% gate, front-load it so you have time to repeat it. Because the craft categories are most familiar to working advisers, they can take a lighter touch.
Law and Ethics first
- Work through the court cases, forums, prior review, libel, privacy, copyright and FERPA
- Write a one-line "what this case decided" note for each case
Writing, Editing and News Gathering
- Drill AP style, leads, attribution, headlines and captions
- Practice producing answers from memory for fill-in items
Design, Photojournalism, Web, Multimedia Broadcast
- Review typography, readability, exposure, composition and image ethics
- Cover platform topics from the JEA curriculum
Program-management categories and News Literacy
- Leadership and Team Building, Marketing and Audience Engagement, News Literacy
- Take a full practice pass and revisit Law and Ethics weak spots
This sequence is an editorial suggestion, not an official JEA timeline, and you can compress or stretch it to fit your calendar. For longer-form planning and exam-day logistics, see the full study guide, and for testing windows see CJE Exam Dates 2026. If you want structured preparation options, CJE training outlines what is available.
Frequently Asked Questions
JEA does not publish an item count or the split between scored and unscored questions. The exam is worth 100 points over 150 minutes, but 100 points does not mean 100 questions. It combines multiple-choice, fill-in-the-blank and short-answer formats.
You need at least 75% overall and at least 75% on Law and Ethics. Both conditions must be met, so a strong overall score cannot make up for a weak Law and Ethics result.
No. The CJE is members only, with no non-member tier. Membership dues are separate from the exam fee, which is $60 on-site or $85 virtual including $25 proctoring.
A Law and Ethics-only retake is possible, and one retake is included within the one-year application window. A virtual retake carries a proctoring charge. Confirm current details with JEA's registration instructions.
No numerical weighting has been published. The eleven categories are JEA curriculum headings used as unweighted preparation sections. JEA says Law and Ethics questions are more heavily weighted but gives no percentages, so treat any specific split you see as unverified.
The CJE lasts five years. Renewal requires three growth activities, a $10 fee (waived for retired educators) and continued JEA membership.