- What the Certified Journalism Educator Credential Is
- Who Should Pursue It and Who Hires for It
- Exam Format: What You Actually Sit For
- The Two-Part Passing Rule
- The Eleven Preparation Categories
- Why Law and Ethics Deserves Your Best Weeks
- Registration, Fees and Retake Mechanics
- Sequencing Your Preparation
- Keeping the Credential Active
- Frequently Asked Questions
- CJE here means Certified Journalism Educator, administered by the Journalism Education Association (JEA) for teachers and advisers.
- The exam runs 150 minutes, is closed book, and mixes multiple-choice, fill-in-the-blank and short-answer questions.
- You must score at least 75% overall and at least 75% on Law and Ethics to pass.
- Fees are $60 on-site or $85 virtual (including $25 proctoring), and JEA membership is required.
What the Certified Journalism Educator Credential Is
The Certified Journalism Educator credential is a professional certification run by the Journalism Education Association. It is designed for the people who teach scholastic journalism and advise student media: the classroom teacher who inherited the yearbook, the adviser guiding a student newspaper through a censorship dispute, the broadcast instructor building a program from scratch. If you are searching for general background first, our explainers on what CJE certification is and what CJE stands for cover the basics.
One clarification matters before anything else. Several unrelated credentials in other industries share the same three letters. This article concerns only the JEA's Certified Journalism Educator exam. Nothing here describes any other credential carrying the CJE acronym, and the details below (fees, format, scoring rule) apply to the JEA program alone.
It is also distinct from JEA's Master Journalism Educator (MJE) designation. The MJE has its own requirements, including essay and project components, and those should not be assumed for the CJE. The CJE is an examination-based credential, and that is the focus of this guide.
Who Should Pursue It and Who Hires for It
The audience is narrow and specific: journalism educators and advisers working with student publications and broadcast programs, most often at the middle school, high school and sometimes collegiate level. The credential does not function like a corporate job-board certification. Its value is professional recognition within scholastic journalism, a documented demonstration that you command the content you are asked to teach.
Employers in this space are school districts, individual schools and the administrators who assign advisers, often to people whose original training was in English or another subject. For a newly assigned adviser without a journalism degree, the exam gives a structured path through the field's essentials. For an experienced teacher, it formalizes expertise you already apply daily. We explore the career side in more depth in our pieces on CJE jobs, the CJE salary guide and whether the certification is worth it. Because teacher pay is set by district schedules rather than by this credential, treat any claim of a guaranteed raise with skepticism and check your own district's policy on professional certifications.
Exam Format: What You Actually Sit For
The current exam lasts 150 minutes and is worth 100 points. It is closed book with no notes allowed, and it is proctored. The question types are mixed: multiple-choice, fill-in-the-blank and short-answer.
This mix shapes how you should prepare. Multiple-choice practice builds recognition and speed, but fill-in-the-blank and short-answer items demand recall and the ability to articulate a concept in your own words. A candidate who has only ever recognized the right answer from four options can stumble when asked to supply the term or explain a legal principle unprompted. Practice questions on this site supplement the full exam rather than reproduce it, so pair them with written recall work. You can start with our CJE practice tests and then test yourself by writing out definitions and explanations without prompts.
| Exam Feature | What JEA Publishes |
|---|---|
| Duration | 150 minutes |
| Point value | 100 points (not a verified question count) |
| Question types | Multiple-choice, fill-in-the-blank, short-answer |
| Resources allowed | None; closed book, no notes |
| Proctoring | Required; on-site or virtual |
| Pass rate | Not publicly disclosed |
Because the pass rate is not disclosed, any number you see quoted online should be treated as unverified. For a fuller discussion of what can and cannot be known, see our analysis of the CJE pass rate and our difficulty guide.
The Two-Part Passing Rule
The scoring rule is the single most important structural fact about this exam. To pass, you need at least 75% overall and at least 75% on Law and Ethics. Both conditions must be met. A strong overall score does not rescue a weak Law and Ethics result, and a strong Law and Ethics result does not rescue a weak overall score.
That second threshold creates a trap for candidates with a design, photography or writing background who treat law as a minor topic. A candidate who excels at layout, headlines and captions can still fail if the legal and ethical questions go badly. JEA states that Law and Ethics questions are more heavily weighted, but it does not publish a numerical breakdown of how many points that section carries. Our passing score guide walks through the arithmetic of the two requirements in more detail.
Key Takeaway
Treat the Law and Ethics threshold as its own exam inside the exam. Track your Law and Ethics practice scores separately from your overall scores, and do not consider yourself ready until both clear 75% consistently.
The Eleven Preparation Categories
JEA organizes its curriculum into eleven public categories, and the current exam is explicitly aligned to that curriculum. We use those categories as preparation sections. An important caveat: they are curriculum headings, not a published percentage-weighted exam blueprint, and there is no guarantee every lesson is examined. Most detailed lesson content sits behind JEA membership, so the descriptions below draw on the public category names and the public teaching standards, not member-only materials. For a longer walkthrough, see our complete guide to all 11 content areas.
Design
Information design and visual communication for print and digital pages.
- Typography and readability
- Layout principles that serve the reader
- How design choices affect comprehension
Editing
The craft of improving copy without distorting it.
- AP style conventions
- Headlines and captions
- Attribution and accuracy checks
Law and Ethics
The heaviest-weighted area and the second pass requirement.
- First Amendment rights and responsibilities
- Court cases, censorship and prior review
- Forums, editorial policies, libel, privacy, copyright, FERPA, obscenity/profanity
- Ethics codes
Leadership and Team Building
Running a staff and developing student editors.
- Organizing a newsroom or yearbook staff
- Delegation and accountability in a student-run environment
Marketing and Audience Engagement
Reaching readers and sustaining a publication.
- Understanding and growing an audience
- Promotion and community connection
Multimedia Broadcast
Audio and video storytelling.
- Broadcast and multimedia production fundamentals
- Adapting journalism principles to moving image and sound
News Gathering
Reporting and news values.
- Identifying and evaluating news
- Sourcing, interviewing and verification
News Literacy
Teaching students to evaluate information critically.
- Media functions and journalism history
- Distinguishing credible reporting from unreliable content
Photojournalism
Visual reporting with a camera.
- Exposure and composition
- Image ethics, including what manipulation is and is not acceptable
Web
Publishing and presenting journalism online.
- Online publication practices
- How digital delivery changes the work
Writing
Journalistic writing as a teachable craft.
- Leads and story structure
- AP style and attribution
- Headlines and captions in the writing process
Why Law and Ethics Deserves Your Best Weeks
Given the double passing threshold, Law and Ethics is where preparation effort pays off most. The public teaching standards signal the breadth of what a candidate should understand: the First Amendment and its limits in a school setting, the court cases that define student press rights, how censorship and prior review operate, the legal status of student media as forums, the role of written editorial policies, and the working definitions of libel, privacy and copyright. FERPA, obscenity and profanity, and professional ethics codes round out the territory.
What strong preparation looks like
Memorizing case names alone is insufficient. The short-answer format rewards candidates who can explain why a ruling matters to an adviser facing a real situation, such as an administrator who wants to review a story before publication. Practice applying principles to scenarios: given a student story about a sensitive topic, what legal and ethical questions arise, and what policy would an adviser want in place beforehand? Write those explanations out. Because the exam is closed book, you cannot look up the details, so you need them in working memory.
Connecting law to the other categories
Law and ethics concepts surface elsewhere. Photojournalism raises image ethics. News Gathering raises questions of privacy and sourcing. Web raises copyright questions about reuse. Reading these categories with a legal-ethical lens reinforces the section you must pass independently.
Registration, Fees and Retake Mechanics
The exam is available to JEA members only, and there is no non-member tier. The fee is $60 for an on-site exam or $85 for a virtual exam, and the virtual price includes $25 for proctoring. Membership dues are additional to those exam fees. Our cost breakdown lays out how these pieces add up.
- Membership: Required before you can sit for the exam; dues are separate from the exam fee.
- Application window: Candidates have a one-year window to complete the process.
- Included retake: One retake is included, though a virtual retake carries the proctoring charge.
- Partial retake: A Law and Ethics-only retake is possible, which is valuable if that is the only requirement you missed.
Sequencing Your Preparation
Generic study advice is plentiful; what helps here is ordering the eleven categories around the two-part pass rule. The sample plan below puts the pass-critical material first and the most hands-on skills last, when you can reinforce them with practice. For a broader plan, see our CJE study guide, and keep our cheat sheet handy for last-minute review.
Law and Ethics foundation
- Cover First Amendment, prior review, forums and key cases
- Write short-answer explanations from memory
Law and Ethics completion
- Libel, privacy, copyright, FERPA, obscenity/profanity, ethics codes
- Take a Law and Ethics-only practice set and score it separately
Writing and Editing
- AP style, leads, attribution, headlines and captions
News Gathering and News Literacy
- News values, sourcing, journalism history, media functions
Design, Photojournalism, Web, Multimedia Broadcast
- Typography, readability, exposure, composition, image ethics
Leadership, Marketing and full review
- Team building and audience engagement
- Timed mixed-format practice within a 150-minute frame
Seven weeks is a suggestion, not a requirement. Adjust to your own background: a longtime yearbook adviser may compress Design and Photojournalism, while a former English teacher may need extra time on the visual categories and on broadcast. Throughout, return to the practice question bank to check that recognition-level knowledge holds up under timed conditions.
Keeping the Credential Active
The CJE is a five-year credential. Renewal requires three growth activities, a $10 renewal fee (waived for retired educators), and continued JEA membership. The growth-activity structure fits how the credential is meant to be used: as an ongoing marker of professional development rather than a one-time test. Check JEA's current forms and guidance for what counts as a qualifying activity, since those details are set by the issuer.
A note on versioning: the guidance we reviewed is current online guidance and does not identify a dated examination version. Reviewed issuer sources are listed on JEA's certification, curriculum and forms pages, and you should consult them directly before registering.
Frequently Asked Questions
It stands for Certified Journalism Educator, a credential offered by the Journalism Education Association for journalism teachers and advisers. It is unrelated to other credentials that share the acronym. See CJE meaning for more.
The exam runs 150 minutes, is worth 100 points, and combines multiple-choice, fill-in-the-blank and short-answer questions. It is closed book with no notes, and the exact number of questions is not published.
You need at least 75% overall and at least 75% on the Law and Ethics portion. Both thresholds must be met, so a high overall score cannot offset a weak Law and Ethics result.
No. The exam is for JEA members only, and there is no non-member option. The fee is $60 on-site or $85 virtual including $25 proctoring, with membership dues paid separately.
A Law and Ethics-only retake is possible, and one retake is included within the one-year application window (a virtual retake carries the proctoring charge). Confirm current terms with JEA before scheduling.